Human Development & Family Studies | Michigan State University

Human Development and Family Studies Faculty

Department Chair: Amy E. Bonomi

Graduate Program Director: Barbara D. Ames

Lead Advisor and GPIDEA Coordinator: Karen Mills

Budget Officer and Staff Supervisor: Lisa Parker

Name Title Areas of Interest
Barbara Ames, Ph D. Graduate Program Director at MSU HDFS Ames, Barbara Ph.D. Professor and Graduate Program Director
ames@msu.edu
517-432-3324
  • Family
  • Work and Family
  • Older workers
  • Women's issues
  • Intergenerational issues
  • Adult...
Blow, Adrian Ph.D. Associate Professor
blowa@msu.edu
517-432-7092
  • Military families
  • Breast cancer
  • Infidelity
  • Common factors
Bonomi, Amy E. Ph.D., M.P.H. Professor and Chair
bonomi@msu.edu
517-355-0230
  • Intimate partner violence
  • Dating violence
  • Couple-level intimacy processes
Bowles, Ryan Assistant Professor
bowlesr@msu.edu
517-432-2264
  • Assessments of early childhood literacy skills
  • Letter name and sound knowledge
  • Phonological awareness
  • ...
Brophy-Herb, Holly E. Ph.D. Professor
hbrophy@msu.edu
517-355-3397
  • Social-emotional development in infancy and early childhood
  • Emotion regulation
  • Self regulation
  • Emotion...
Carolan, Marsha Ph.D. Associate Professor
carolan@msu.edu
517-432-3327
  • Feminist and multicultural approaches
  • Violence against women
  • Family health
  • Qualitative research
  • ...
Gerde, Hope K. Ph.D. Assistant Professor
hgerde@msu.edu
517-355-0365
  • Early language and literacy development of children at risk
  • Professional development for early childhood teachers
  • ...
Griffore, Robert J. Ph.D. Professor
griffore@msu.edu
517-432-3818
  • Reseach methods and quantitative methods
  • Lifespan human development
  • Theory construction in human development and...
Johnson, Deborah J. Ph.D. Professor
john1442@msu.edu
517-432-9115
  • Racial-ethnic parental socialization
  • Racial-identity development
  • Child racial coping
  • Cultural and...
Picture of Julia Miller Miller, Julia R. Ph.D. Professor
jrmiller@msu.edu
517.353.9457
  • African American women professionals
  • Disenfranchised families and children
  • Internationalization
  • ...
Onaga, Esther E. Ph.D. Associate Professor
onaga@msu.edu
517-355-0166
  • Community inclusion of people with diabilities
  • Psychosocial clubhouses for people with psychiatric disabilities
  • ...
Parra-Cardona, José Rubén Ph.D. Associate Professor
parracar@msu.edu
517-432-2269
  • Cultural adaptation of evidence-based parenting interventions
  • Violence against women
  • Latino fatherhood &...
Phenice, Lillian A. Ph.D. Professor
lphenice@msu.edu
517-432-2265
Dr. Qin Picture Qin, Desiree Baolian Ed.D. Associate Professor
dqin@msu.edu
517-432-2267
  • Immigration, culture and adolescent development
  • Immigrant family dynamics
  • Asian Americans
  • Mixed-method...
Schiamberg, Lawrence B. Ph.D. Professor
schiambe@msu.edu
517-432-8293
  • Elder Abuse in the family and in nursing homes
  • Adolescent Bullying
Silvey, Le Anne E. Ph.D, ACSW, LMSW. Associate Professor and Director American Indian Studies Program
silveyle@msu.edu
517-432-3325
  • American Indian families, including individual and family lifespan development
  • Cross-cultural practice
  • Family...
Skibbe, Lori Ph.D. Assistant Professor
skibbelo@msu.edu
517-432-2022
  • Early literacy development in the context of families and schools
  • Assessment of literacy skills during preschool
  • ...
Vallotton, Claire D. Ph.D. Assistant Professor
vallotto@msu.edu
517-884-0521
  • Infant sign/symbolic gestures
  • Infant mental health
  • Parent-child interaction and communication
  • Child...
Villarruel, Francisco A. Ph.D. University Outreach and Engagement Senior Fellow and Professor
fvilla@msu.edu
517-432-7298
  • Latino youth and families
  • Juvenile justice systems reform
  • Youth policy
Youatt, June Pierce Ph.D. Acting Provost and Professor
youatt@msu.edu
517-432-1075
  • Family Community Services
  • Higher Education and Leadership
Website Development by GreenLite